Directors & Senior Management

Patrick Meier

Non-Executive Chairman
Patrick Meier was appointed as Non-Executive Director in April 2015 and became Non-Executive Chairman on 10 May 2017. He has over thirty years of experience in investment banking with specialist knowledge of the mining sector. Patrick has an MA (Hons) in Natural Sciences from Cambridge University.
Most recently he headed up the investment banking activities for RBC Capital Markets in Europe and Asia and drove a major expansion of RBC’s European presence. Prior to this role, he headed up RBC’s activities in the metals and mining sector in Europe, Africa and Asia for many years, and continues to enjoy strong relationships within the sector. He also served as a Director on the Board of RBC’s main operating subsidiary in Europe.
Julian Treger

Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
Julian Treger joined Anglo Pacific as Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director on 21 October 2013.
Julian has an MBA from Harvard Business School and a BA from Harvard University. He began his career working for Lord Rothschild as an in-house corporate financier, managing a portfolio of public and private equity investments before co-founding Active Value Advisors Ltd. to invest in undervalued, predominantly UK-listed companies, where he advised on more than US$900.0m of funds over a 12-year period. Most recently, he has served as one of the principals of Audley Capital Advisors LLP, an investment advisory firm, which he co-founded in 2005, managing value-orientated, special situations investment strategies through hedge fund and co-investment vehicles, with a principal focus on the natural resources sector. Julian also holds an external Non-Executive directorship with Mantos Copper S.A.
David Archer

Non-Executive Director and Senior Independent Director
David Archer was appointed Non-Executive Director in October 2014 and is the Group’s Senior Independent Director. David has over 34 years’ international resources industry experience in the Americas, Asia, Australia and the Middle East. He is the Chief Executive Officer of AIM-listed Savannah Resources PLC, which owns majority stakes in a mineral sands project in Mozambique and a copper project in Oman, and was previously the Managing Director of ASX-listed company, Hillgrove Resources Ltd, where he was responsible for growing the company into a significant, dividend paying, mineral explorer and copper producer with assets in Australia and Indonesia. David was the founder and Deputy Chairman of Savage Resources Ltd, a coal, copper and zinc producer, and the founder and Executive Chairman of PowerTel Ltd. He is also a barrister (non-practicing) of the Supreme Court of New South Wales.
Mike Blyth

Non-Executive Director
Mike Blyth was appointed Director in March 2013 and acted as Non-Executive Chairman from 1 April 2014 to 10 May 2017. He has a BSc from St Andrews University and is a Chartered Accountant. He was, until his retirement in 2011, a partner for 30 years in RSM (previously Baker Tilly), specialising in providing audit and related services to AIM and full list clients. During his career he held a number of senior management positions with the firm, including a period on its National Executive Committee. In addition to his chairmanship of Anglo Pacific, Mike is a board member of Wheatley Housing Group and director of Haldane Property Company Ltd and Glasgow & Suburban Property Company Ltd. He also acts as trustee for a number of small charities.
Rachel Rhodes

Non-Executive Director
Rachel Rhodes was appointed Non-Executive Director in May 2014 and currently chairs the Group’s Audit Committee. Rachel has an MA in Economics from the University of Cambridge and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, having qualified with Coopers and Lybrand in London in 1997. She has over fifteen years of experience in the mining industry, including with Anglo American PLC (until August 2008)and London Mining PLC (until November 2013) and is now CFO of Alufer Mining Ltd. Rachel also serves on the boards of Alufer Mining Services Ltd and Bel Air Mining S.A. and has played a leading role in listing companies on LSE, AIM and JSE, in raising significant project and corporate finance and in negotiating mining licences and fiscal platforms.
Robert Stan

Non-Executive Director
Robert (‘Bob’) Stan was appointed Non-Executive Director in February 2014. He has a B.Comm from the University of Saskatchewan. Bob has over 34 years’ experience in the mining industry. He has held several senior positions with Fording Coal Limited, Westar Mining Ltd, and TECK Corporation before becoming a founding shareholder and director of publicly quoted Grande Cache Coal Corporation (“GCC”), an Alberta-based metallurgical coal mining company, in 2000. At GCC, Bob served as President, CEO and Director from 2001 to 2012, when the company was sold for US$1.0bn to Winsway Coking Coal and Marubeni Corp, an Asian-backed strategic investor consortium. He has served as Chairman of the Coal Association of Canada Board of Directors and has acted as a board member of the International Energy Agency’s Coal Industry Advisory Board. Bob currently serves on the board of several private companies, including Quantex Resources Ltd, Lighthouse Resources Inc. and Spruce Bluff Resources Ltd, and formerly served on the board of publicly-listed Whetstone Minerals Ltd.
Kevin Flynn

Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary
Kevin Flynn joined Anglo Pacific as Chief Financial Officer in January 2012 and was appointed Company Secretary in March 2015. A Chartered Accountant, having qualified with Deloitte, he has overall responsibility for corporate reporting, treasury and taxation. Prior to joining Anglo Pacific, Kevin spent several years in finance roles in the London commercial real estate sector, with both FTSE 100 and FTSE 250 companies.